Kheksa masala dry veggie


Day before yesterday, while returning from morning walk, I was struck by the sight of a new vegetable put on display on the pavement by vegetable vendor.

Decades old childhood memories flooded my mind. The vegetable appeared to have been seen in childhood but I could not remember it’s name and taste. So I decided to purchase it and try my hand on this unique vegetable!!

When my husband saw this, he immediately recognized it and told me , this is Spine gourd or Teasel gourd( kheksa). And shared his memories that he enjoyed it in their grandma’s home. His Uncle was so much fond of this veggie. It resembles bitter gourd and pointed gourd.Being a masters of botany, he gave me information that all of them belong to same family cucurbitacea. While I am also masters of botany but I am not that kinda…😂

After reaching home, I called my mother and asked about the recipe. She gave me the recipe as well as it’s immense health benefits. like…

It not only reduces blood sugar level but improves one’s vision and gastronomical health. According to Ayurveda it contains anti aging properties and is helpful in cough, cold and fever.

I made it with passion and the dish turned out to be wonderful. And one interesting thing is that, even my so choosy children liked it!!

I served this dry preparation of vegetable with paratha and two types of green and red chutnies(dips). It is most suitable for lunch although you can have it in dinner also.

Serves: 6

Preparation time: 30 minutes

Cooking time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 kg fresh spine gourd(kantola or kheksa)
  • 1or 2 finely chopped onion
  • 8 -10 garlic cloves
  • 1 inch ginger
  • 18-20 black peppercorn
  • 1/2 tsp Cumin
  • 1/2 tsp nigella seeds or kalongi
  • 1/2 tsp crushed thick fennel
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/2 tsp dry mango powder
  • 1/2 tsp chaat masala
  • 3-4 tbsp mustard oil
  • Salt to taste

METHOD

  1. Properly wash and slice the gourd lengthwise and keep aside.
  2. Make fine paste of ginger, garlic, black pepper and cumin.
  3. Heat oil in a non-stick pot and saute onion. When onion turns light brown, add fennel, kalaunji. Once they start crackling, immediately add freshly made paste and add turmeric, coriander,red chilli powder and saute. When masala and oil separate, add sliced vegetables and saute all of them properly.
  4. Add salt, mix well, cover the pot and cook the vegetable for about 15 minutes.
  5. Sprinkle the mango powder and chaat masala over vegetable and cook for another 2-3 minutes. When the vegetable is done, take the pot off the flame.
  6. Serve hot with roti, paratha or dal and rice.

Nosh farmaiye…

32 Comments Add yours

  1. ShankySalty says:

    Amazing, I love this veggie. Kheksa is my favorite😋😋😋

    Liked by 2 people

    1. azratarannum says:

      Oh same here..And thank you so much for supporting my blog😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ShankySalty says:

        No worries dear💐😊

        Liked by 2 people

  2. noir622224124 says:

    Oh love it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. azratarannum says:

      I am sure everybody loves it!😀 Do try..

      Like

  3. Great recipe and pictures! Thank you! My wife eats Indian food all the time! She teaches private piano lessons and we have had many families from India whose children take lessons. Many people from India live here in Colorado! God bless you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. azratarannum says:

      Thank you for your kind words!! And l am glad that you liked it…😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Chef V. says:

    😜👌Great!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I guess I get out my long dis-used spice grinder and give this one a try. It looks delicious.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. azratarannum says:

      Yes, it is😋…By the way good luck!!😊

      Like

  6. natashadhanraj9 says:

    Such a good recipe! woah

    Liked by 3 people

    1. azratarannum says:

      So nice of you!☺️ Thank you so much!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. natashadhanraj9 says:

        welcome:)

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I love this vegetable. It’s very tasty however it’s made. Nice recipe.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. azratarannum says:

      Thank you. Hope you’ll love it this way too!😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Aditi says:

    I thought only Rajasthani eat this veggie😝

    Liked by 1 person

    1. azratarannum says:

      It’s quite popular in all of North India 😄

      Like

  9. Megala says:

    Looks so beautiful & delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. azratarannum says:

      Glas to hear your kind words!! Thank you😊

      Liked by 1 person

    2. azratarannum says:

      Glad to hear your kind words!! Thank you😊

      Liked by 1 person

  10. mistimaan says:

    I want to taste it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. azratarannum says:

      The recipe is super easy to follow, you should try it!!😀

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Sidrah Fatima says:

    delicious 😋😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. azratarannum says:

      Thanks Sidrah❤️

      Like

  12. I love this and the connection with ayurveda health benefits. Childhood memories really do inspire us🤗

    Liked by 2 people

    1. azratarannum says:

      Yes, this rare monsoon season veggie has immense health benefits!! But don’t overcook it otherwise it may lose its nutrients…And thanks for supporting my blog!!😊

      Like

    1. azratarannum says:

      Well-deserved…😄

      Like

  13. pragya says:

    dude.. Remove your wordpress favicon. Otherwise your site will be hacked .

    Like

Leave a comment